Rajya Sabha Question Starred/ Unstarred Diary No. U2457 for 05-08-2021

Provisionally admitted Rajya Sabha Question Starred/ Unstarred Diary No. U2457 for 05-08-2021 regarding reserved category students in PG programmes in IITs and NITs "asked by Shri K. Somaprasad. The text of the Question reads as under:

- (a) the number of students belonging to SC/ST/OBC/EWS admitted in M.Tech, M.Sc, M.S, M.C.A and M.B.A programmes of each IIT and NIT along with their total admissions from 2016 onwards;
- **(b)** the number of students belonging to SC/ST/OBC/EWS who withdrew after taking admissions in these programs at each IIT and NIT along with their total number from 2016 onwards; and
- (c) IITs and NITs that have set up SC/ST/OBC cells, their composition and details about SC/ST/OBC faculty present in them?

Reply:

S. No.	Name of IITs	Years	PG Progra	ammes (M	.Tech, M.S	Sc, M.S., M.	C.A. and M	LB.A)							Withdrawn after taking admission in PG Programmes												SC/ST/OBC œlls	
			Gen		SC		ST		OBC		EWS		Total		Gen		SC		ST		OBC		EWS		Total		Composition of SC/ST/OBC cells	Details of SC/ST/OBC Faculty in the Cell
			Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female		
1	IIT Hyderabad	2017	9:	22	2 1	17	7	8 6	5 50	0 17		0	166	52	1	ı	0	1 0) 1	. 3	14	4	0 ()	0 3) 3	IIT Hyderabad has SC/ ST Cell with 5 members.	The details of faculty in the SC/ ST Cell are:
		2018	9	22	2 2	29	4	9 3	55	9 19	() (195	44			1	0) 4			5	0 ()	0 2	1	Prof. C. Krishna Mohan (Chairman & Liaison Officer),	Prof. C. Krishna Mohan (Chairman & Liaison Officer),
		2019	9	3 23	3 2	23	5 1	0 1	60	0 16		4 1	195	46	1		1	1 1	1	. (2	2	0 1		0 19	2	Prof. Bharat Bhooshan Panigrahi (Member),	Prof. Bharat Bhooshan Panigrahi (Member),
		2020	8	16	5 2	29 1	0 1	4 3	52	2 17	23	3	198	49)	5	1	1 1	. (2		5	1 3	3	0 1		Dr. K. P. Prabheesh (Member),	Dr. K. P. Prabheesh (Member),
																											Mr. S. Laxman (Member),	
																											Ms. N. Aruna (Member)	
																											IT Hyderabad also has Equal Opportunity Cell to deal with the issues of OBC, Religious Minorities, PWDs, Kashmiri Migrants and Kin of Armed Forces. The Committee constitutes the following members:	The details of faculty in the Equal Opportunity Cell who are of OBC Category:
																											Dr. Narasimha Mangadoddy (Chairman & Liaison Officer)	Dr. Narasimha Mangadoddy (Chairman & Liaison Officer)
																											Dr. Asif Qureshi (Member)	
																											Dr. Maria Francis (Member)	
																											Mrs. Doddi Chanchala Devi (Member)	
																											Mr. Md Jameel (Member)	